Contact Us

The St. Michael’s Hospital Student Centre office is in Suite 575 on the 5th floor of the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, located at 209 Victoria Street.

Hours of operation

Monday to Thursday – 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Friday – 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Contact Information

Email: studentcentre@smh.ca
Online Contact Form: Contact Us
Phone: 416-864-5700
Fax: 416-864-5430

Our Team

St. Michael’s Student Centre provides a welcoming environment for all students and educators to meet, learn and engage with each other. It is the centralized location for the on-boarding, administrative resources as well as guidance and support required to ensure that the educational experience offered at St. Michael’s is second to none.

 

Opened in 2010, the centre is designed and built based on feedback from our students. In the spirit of collaborative learning and care, the Student Centre is a central place for all students of all disciplines to go for administrative resources and services. In the past, medical, nursing and health discipline students were in different places of the hospital, in traditional offices, without proper meeting areas. Now they enjoy an inviting environment with a single point of access.

Sasha Miles, MEd, RD

Director, Clinical and Integrated Education

Sasha.Miles@unityhealth.to

Molly Zirkle, MD, MEd, FRCSC

Director, FitzGerald Academy

Molly.Zirkle@unityhealth.to

Dragana Markovic

Manager, Student Centre

Dragana.Markovic@unityhealth.to

Karl Iglar, MD

Director, PostGraduate Medical Education

Karl.Iglar@unityhealth.to

Aimee Hindle

Manager, Academic Affairs

Aimee.Hindle@unityhealth.to

Vanessa Durante

Manager, Corporate Nursing Education

Vanessa.Durante@unityhealth.to

Carlos Mengual

Education Coordinator. Health Disciplines

Carlos.Mengual@unityhealth.to

Cindy Chiu

Education Coordinator, Nursing

Cindy.Chiu@unityhealth.to

Lars Fonteyne

Education Coordinator, FitzGerald Academy

Lars.Fonteyne@unityhealth.to

Sonya Surbek

Education Coordinator, FitzGerald Academy

Sonya.Surbek@unityhealth.to

Aaron Calano

Education Coordinator, PostGraduate Medical Education

Aaron.Calano@unityhealth.to

Wallace Dakwa

Systems Coordinator, Student Centre

Wallace.Dakwa@unityhealth.to

416-864-5700

Collaborative Practice Managers

There are 3 Collaborative Practice Managers at St. Michael’s. Their role is to support a superior student experience by way of coordinating, supporting and overseeing student placements for the respective disciplines for which they are responsible. They liaise with the schools and communicate as needed with students and preceptors to both provide necessary information and to evaluate the overall student program.

 

They are available to both students and preceptors for consultation and assistance.

Office of Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs has managers who are a resource for both students and preceptors.

If you experience a challenge with your placement, the hospital, faculty/staff or another student, we can help. Please feel free to contact us should you need any support.